Tags

,

One of the great things about the Chicago Botanic Garden is that it’s not just about the flowers.  You are just as likely to come upon a majestic bird as you are to find a poppy or a petunia.  Luckily this one was sitting with its back to me so every time he put his head down to preen under his wings, I took a step closer.  I’m definitely not an expert so I couldn’t tell you what this bird is, other than to say it’s probably a hawk of some kind.   Someone who arrived to take pictures just as I was leaving said he thought it was a juvenile red-tailed hawk.

The humbling thing about wildlife photography is that, generally speaking, you do it but only on their terms.  You can’t force them to stay, keep still, or sit in a certain light. You just take what you can get and be thankful!

