Tags

, , ,

Today being Cinco de Mayo I wanted to find some pictures that would best celebrate the day.  I don’t observe this particular holiday myself but if I did I think I would commemorate it in dance.

A few years ago Mum and I went to a program put on by Ballet Folklorico Huehuecoyotl in Elgin, Illinois.  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect but was absolutely enchanted by the colorful costumes and the obvious joy that the dancers showed in performing.

Their enthusiasm for what they were doing was infectious and had us all tapping our toes to the music. I felt like I wanted to jump up there with them and join in! They were very gracious in allowing me to take pictures and I even got to go backstage to get a different view of the performance. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and hope to see them again some time in the future.

