Tags

, , , ,

In this case a little too close for comfort.  Last year while we were vacationing in South Dakota we spent a couple of days in Custer State Park.  This was just after they had completed the annual round-up of buffalo there, so when we saw them all congregated behind a not unsubstantial fence, we thought we’d stop to take a look.

Several people had the same idea and there were quite a few of us lined up along the fence taking photos.  I was so engrossed in watching these beautiful animals but after a while I turned to notice that almost everyone else had melted away and there was only one other photographer between me and a very large buffalo that was wandering along towards us, only a few yards away, on the wrong side of the fence!

The man was still blissfully unaware of what was heading towards him so I called to him to “watch out!” and we both backed away towards our respective cars (but not without getting one last shot.)  After I got inside the vehicle I realized that my husband was still standing outside on the driver’s side videotaping the whole thing and it didn’t occur to me until much later that I couldn’t remember hearing him warning me about what was happening! What was he planning on doing? Getting a once-in-a-lifetime shot of me being chased down the road by a buffalo? Thanks a lot!

Anyway, once again, all’s well that ends well and everyone came away unscathed.

