Tags

, , ,

Frizztext’s Story Challenge at   http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2012/07/17/story-challenge-letter-c/ this week is the Letter C and my thoughts immediately turned, as many of yours probably did, to cars.  But not just any old cars.

First let me say that I have no real interest in cars. I’m not one of those people who can look at a car and know what model and even year it is.  I can hardly tell one from another and have, on more than one occasion, tried to get into someone else’s in mistake for mine (very embarrassing especially if anyone is looking.)

But there is something radically different about the cars at Volo Auto Museum.  These are definitely not cars that you could lose in a parking lot (been there, done that.) These cars stand out in a crowd!

Volo Auto Museum is, as the name suggests, located in Volo, Illinois and for anyone who loves specialty cars this is the place to go. Cars from movies and TV shows such as Batman, Mad Max, The Munsters, Indiana Jones, Ghostbusters, and the BluesMobile are just a few of the items on display.

The colors are spectacular and the chrome sparkles magnificently!  I would love to drive around town in one of these, just for the day, and see the expression on people’s faces as I sounded the horn and waved as I went past in something this eye-catching.

There are vintage cars and military vehicles, cars for kids and even cars from ‘Cars’ including the always popular Lightning McQueen. The museum is open 7 days a week and holds events such as specialty meets and auctions.

Some of the cars in the showroom are for sale and it was with some difficulty that I managed to persuade my then 16 year-old grandson, who I had taken, along with his younger brother, for a visit, that it would be best to talk to his father before signing on the dotted line!  I could just imagine him pulling up in the family’s driveway in the Marilyn Mobile! I would probably have been banned from taking him anywhere ever again!

