Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Ailsa’s latest Travel Theme challenge on Where’s My Backpack at http://wheresmybackpack.com/2013/08/09/travel-theme-architecture/ is Architecture. This subject worked out just fine for me since I recently visited downtown Chicago for the express purpose of shooting some of its many and diverse styles of architecture. To this end I decided to take a stroll along Wacker Drive.

IMG_0591b

I don’t usually go down this way as my normal route would be straight down Madison, from the train station, to the shops on State Street and Michigan Avenue but for photographic purposes you get a great view of some of Chicago’s most outstanding buildings when you take a walk along by the river.

IMG_0593

Starting with the home of Chicago’s Lyric Opera, the Civic Opera House, which first opened its doors in 1929, I dodge past some window cleaners who are inadvertently showering any unsuspecting passerby from a nearby building, and carry on until I get to the next point of interest, The Merchandise Mart.

IMG_0789

Once the largest building in the world with 4,000,000 square feet of floor space, The Merchandise Mart opened in 1930 and even had its own zip code until 2008. I’ve never actually been inside the Mart so I must make a note for future exploration.

IMG_0627

Marina Towers, which has featured in many movies and TV shows was completed in 1964 at a cost of $36 million. These corncob structures contain, amongst other things, parking garages, condominiums, a hotel, bowling alley and the famous House of Blues concert hall.

IMG_0614b

Perched, glittering, on the river’s edge at Wabash and Wacker is one of Chicago’s most recent additions, the 92-story Trump International Hotel and Tower.

IMG_0642

In contrast, a little further down, is stately old Wrigley Building which was sold in 2011 and is currently undergoing renovation.

IMG_0641

Of course there are many more interesting buildings in Chicago and I hope to get around to photographing some more of them soon, but these were just a few that I saw on my walk down Wacker.

