Tags

, , , , , ,

First let me say that I rarely post pictures that I haven’t taken myself but in this instance I didn’t have much of a choice. However, these photos do relate, in one way or another, to our family so I hope I may be forgiven for using them.

I recently posted a piece on one of my other blogs, Getting the Picture, in response to Ailsa’s Travel Theme challenge on Where’s My Backpack? at http://wheresmybackpack.com/2014/01/17/travel-theme-silver/ which this week is the topic Silver.

Bearsted club 1b

I included this picture of my maternal grandparent’s cabinet in which they displayed their silver collection. However, after many years of family history research on Ancestry.com and other genealogy websites as well as receiving information gathered by other members of our family, I have discovered that this is only a small part of the story concerning our family and silver.

Nan Mccarthy

My paternal grandmother’s great-grandfather, Joseph Scammell, was a silversmith as was his father and grandfather before him.

His grandfather, also Joseph, born the son of a weaver in Gloucestershire in 1752, became an apprentice silversmith in the city of London in 1767.

Joseph Scammell silver

This George III oval silver tea caddy, which appears on the Christie’s auction website, bears the mark of Joseph Scammell London 1794. A year later, just one year before his death in 1796, he made this beautiful silver centerpiece bowl, which also appears on the Christie’s website and from where I obtained these pictures.

joseph scammell george III silver wine funnel london 1794

I also found this picture of a silver wine funnel, made by Joseph Scammell in 1794, on the Invaluable auction website. If you Google ‘Joseph Scammell Silversmith’ you will find a few more examples of his work.

Although Joseph’s talents as a silversmith were passed down to his son Joseph, his grandson of that name was not as successful and died a pauper in one of London’s many poorhouses in 1886.

