Tags

, ,

shipwreck 1

It was a gloomy day when we made a brief stop in Port Huron, but despite the rain we were determined to get some pictures and in between downpours got out of the car and walked along the waterfront, under the Blue Water Bridge that links USA and Canada.

shipwreck 2

Probably because of the ominous clouds that hung over the lake, I was reminded of a recent conversation I had with our daughter about shipwrecks in general and the Edmund Fitzgerald in particular – she played us the song on her iphone and, thanks dear daughter o’ mine, I haven’t been able to stop singing it in my head ever since!

I was interested, therefore, to come across these memorials dedicated to those people who had been lost in similarly tragic circumstances.

shipwreck 3

shipwreck 4

shipwreck 6

Being a non-swimmer I have a healthy respect for deep water and stay well clear of it but there are times when you just have to put your fears aside and get a little closer.

shipwreck 5

