Tags

, , ,

All aboard 1

I like flowers. You like trains. I’m willing to compromise. If my husband is prepared to trek around umpteen different botanical gardens while we’re on our travels, I’m more than happy to reciprocate by visiting train, auto and boat museums. And really I quite enjoy it. I may not know exactly what it is I’m looking at or even bother to read all the signs, notices and descriptions but as long as I’ve got my camera with me I’m quite content.

All aboard 2

Whilst visiting Green Bay recently we stopped in at the National Railroad Museum and there were plenty of picture-taking opportunities to be had, beginning with the Hood Junction Depot located just inside the gates of the museum campus. Here we purchased tickets for a short train ride around the grounds which cover some 33 acres and, while we were waiting to board, I got a few shots of some of the vintage railroad equipment standing on the tracks.

All aboard 3
All aboard 4

This Chicago, Burlington & Quincy #300 Silver Spirit dinette/observation car was built in 1939 and can be rented for special occasions held at the Museum, such as weddings, showers or birthday parties.

All aboard 5

Inside the Lenfestey Center there are several locomotives on display including the Dwight D Eisenhower, the only British-built A4 class locomotive in the USA, which has just returned from a two year loan to the National Railway Museum in York, England. As part of the loan agreement the English museum cosmetically restored the engine and the Green Bay museum restored two of the cars that were part of Gen. Eisenhower’s World War II command train.

All aboard 6

More pictures to follow in a future post.

